Spellman Humanitarian Awards

  • Initiated in 1999, the awards honor the memory of the late Dr. Elwood M. (Ossie) Spellman, who served as a member and president of the West Chester School Board from 1951 to 1969. A highly respected area dentist, Dr. Spellman was also actively involved in the Boy Scouts, Rotary Club, YMCA, and Westminster Presbyterian Church. 

    Each year, the West Chester Area School District and the West Chester Area Education Association award ten deserving seniors from each high school with the Spellman Humanitarian Award. We are very proud to present the winners for the 2019-2020 school year.  We hope you will take the time to read all the amazing accomplishments these students performed in the Spellman Humanitarian Award program.

    East Henderson Rustin
    AJ Avagliano Kathryn Ackerman Jordan Cirincione
    Kenneth Boggess Faris Ali Bridget Duffy
    Ayman Boothwala Vijay Anne Lucas Edmonds
    Lia Fourakis Nathaniel Cain Abbey Erhardt
    Kyle Puchalla Michael Cotter Brian Knox Hambleton
    Matt Sivo Alexander Gershman Kim Le
    Nabiha Sleiman Autumn Scott Brent Long
    Maggie Stillman Safiya Topiwala Nina Nsereko
    Abhi Suresh Isha Trasi Nathan Podgurski
    Micaela Zelinsky Aravind Viswanathan Katia Simpkins

    Thank you to School Board Secretary, Linda Cherashore; Director of Elementary Education, Sara Missett; and Assistant Superintendent & Secondary Education, Bob Sokolowski for delivering the awards to our very deserving students.