Return to Headlines

Students Honored in 25th Annual Spellman Humanitarian Awards Honors

Earlier this month, the West Chester Area School District (WCASD) and the West Chester Area Education Association recognized the humanitarian efforts of the recipients of the 2023 Spellman Humanitarian Award. This award is given to ten deserving seniors from each WCASD high school who exhibit the spirit of volunteerism and citizenship that was central to the late Dr. Elwood M. (Ossie) Spellman's life.

Dr. Spellman was a highly respected dentist who served as a member and president of the West Chester School Board from 1951 to 1969. He was also actively involved in the Boy Scouts, Rotary Club, YMCA, and Westminster Presbyterian Church. Initiated in 1999, the Spellman Humanitarian Awards honor his memory and legacy.

WCASD School Board President and daughter of Dr. Spellman, Mrs. Sue Tiernan, shared with the students and their families that her father would have been so honored to see his legacy of service live on through these dedicated young men and women. “The paths you have taken to receive this award demonstrate that you are already experiencing life outside of school. You have discovered that helping other people is not only a gift to them but a tremendous gift to yourself and a way of knowing who you are as well. We thank and celebrate you,” said Tiernan while addressing the award recipients.

The WCASD and the West Chester Area Education Association are proud to recognize the following students for their outstanding achievements in volunteering and community service:

  • Patricia Agustin, East High School
  • Saanvi Bhatia, East High School
  • Daniel Cheng, East High School
  • Anna Harootunian, East High School
  • Erica Martin, East High School
  • Malavika Menon, East High School
  • Norah Plummer, East High School
  • Grace Rudderow, East High School
  • Patrick Tran, East High School
  • Jada Yard, East High School


  • Emily Brockson, Henderson High School
  • Jenaea Davenport, Henderson High School
  • Caleb Fernandes, Henderson High School
  • Nishita Jakkam, Henderson High School
  • Maximilian Moak, Henderson High School
  • Anjana Pramod, Henderson High School
  • Meet Shah, Henderson High School
  • Simeon Shappell-Smith, Henderson High School
  • Aryan Sharma, Henderson High School
  • Christopher Simms, Henderson High School


  • Corinne Atwell, Rustin High School
  • Nora Jiang, Rustin High School
  • Sehaj Kaur, Rustin High School
  • Conner Orkin, Rustin High School
  • Nicholas Piccone, Rustin High School
  • Bobby Ristine, Rustin High School
  • Gavin Snyder, Rustin High School
  • Hudson Sunderlin, Rustin High School
  • Spencer Upton, Rustin High School
  • Gayatri Venkatesan, Rustin High School

These exceptional students have demonstrated a commitment to helping others and improving their communities, embodying the same qualities that made Dr. Spellman such an influential figure in West Chester. The Spellman Humanitarian Awards are a testament to the importance of volunteerism and citizenship, and it is an honor to celebrate these remarkable students for their contributions to society.

“Congratulations to the 2023 Spellman Humanitarian Award recipients,” said Chris Reyna, representing the West Chester Area Education Association. “We have a strong commitment to our community in this District and our students consistently step up to join in our community service efforts and make the world a better place.”